Shodo 6/1/2016

IMG_4489

I had a late start tonight so I decided to use a brush-pen fit with a cartridge rather than the one I usually use. There’s not too much of a difference except that relying on the cartridge to get the right amount of ink and not blot too much in places can be quite difficult. When writing kana it can be especially punishing in places if you hesitate or stop because the ink bleeds really fast.

One thing my teacher made a point about last week was creating a good contrast between thick and thin lines when writing kana. It’s something that I knew was important in kanji, but I had never even noticed in kana, so I made a conscious effort to create that contrast this evening. I have a feeling I overshot it, though.

Leave a Reply

