Flourishing

FullSizeRender-4 copyFullSizeRender-5IMG_4841

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a huge dork when it comes to lettering and calligraphy. It all started years ago when my best friend here started learning Spencerian cursive. His interest sparked an interest of my own, so I bought the same practice books and started learning. Since then I got interested in English calligraphy, I like to carve seals out of stone and finally I was able to find a book that shows how to do ornamental calligraphy like this. I spent a few months doing the basic exercises trying to learn how to use my arm more than my wrist so I can make smooth, large circles, but I’m not sure how well my constant and thorough practice paid off. I literally drew circles and other basic exercises for 30 minutes a day, every day of the week.

Hopefully one day I can spruce up my letters a bit with these designs. And hopefully I can make some of my own eventually (these are me copying from the book). And hopefully I can find a store that sells fountain pens with flexible nibs (I used a Japanese sharpie that simulates a brush for its nib in order to make the thick lines on some of the examples since I didn’t have any way of doing it with my fountain pen). Anyway, I’ll throw more of these up the further I progress in my studies.

 

*Design copied from Ornate Pictorial Calligraphy by E.A. Lupfer for the purpose of practice

One thought on “Flourishing

Leave a Reply

