News 9/21/2016

Hey there! Just a quick update on things. Sketching and fundamental practice had been going strong for a few weeks, but last weekend I had to work, and what’s more, outside, so I didn’t get as much practice in as I’d have liked.

After work I’ve been coming home and dedicating my limited free time to drawing comics. I’ve got a new one in the works in addition to MFL that I hope you like. I need to get a portfolio completed before the end of next spring so I thought that developing a comic with a larger scope and continuing story might provide me with a chance to do some planning and hopefully include some of that process in my portfolio. I just said “limited free time” but I actually spent 8 hours in two days earlier this week chunking out the title page…

Shodo goes through periods of intense work and taking a week off. Honestly, if I can’t find a moment to do it while at work, I probably won’t have a chance to do it at all. Lately, my wife has been working and I’ve had to watch the kids 3 to 4 nights out of the week, and slipping out of the bedroom to do some shodo has its downsides. Having to abandon my tools mid-work can mean coming back an hour later to a crusty brush once my son has finished his random night-fit.

Anyway, I hope to be able to keep bringing you some quality work in the coming months!

Leave a Reply

