News 11/4/2016

For the past few weeks I’ve been on vacation with my family, and then my dad came to visit from America, so my schedule has been out of whack and I haven’t had a lot of time near my work desk. I almost exclusively do calligraphy when I’m visiting a school or going to lessons, and since I’ve only had a few days at work I’ve not been practicing much. When not at work my family has had a monopoly on my time. It’s been great to see them as much as I have but it’ll be nice to have a kind of consistent schedule again starting next Monday.

That being said, I’ve put in about 10 hours on the next Ballad of Cawnye comic and even brought in one of my best friends to handle the writing. I’m pretty excited to see where it goes. The only problem is just how long it takes to churn the art out. Please be patient.

Finally, I’ve been getting some strong hints from people around me (not my wife) that my dream of becoming an artist is unrealistic and I should give up and just get a job based on my Japanese ability to make sure I have the benefits and cash necessary for the family. I know it’s a decision I’m going to have to make when time for the job hunt begins, but I guess it hurts a little bit to have people taking the attitude that it’s not even worth trying. I don’t know, I suppose I believe in my ability to improve the necessary amount if I were living in a vacuum, I guess I’m just not so sure I think I can do it with the amount of time I have available to me. I’m not really sure what I should be doing right now to be honest.

2 thoughts on “News 11/4/2016

  1. I feel like I’m missing these posts for some silly reason! But today you popped up and now I can catch up! Great cartoons! The talent is undeniable! It stinks because in. The arts, whatever they may be, most of the time it is crazy ass hard work (like really crazy), connections or dumb luck that makes someone. So much great talent never makes it. That may sound depressing but I see it a lot. I personally think your material rocks. Do you have any ins?

    Like

    1. I know a few people but honestly my skill isn’t where it needs to be to make this my main job. I’ve given up on that for now and will be looking for a job that can take advantage of my mediocre Japanese ability when I move back (if I move back, I suppose. Let’s see if America implodes once Trump takes office). At the moment I’ve been pouring a lot of time into this Cawnye comic because I really think there’s something good there, I’ve got a great partner, and there’s some momentum behind it. Maybe it’ll turn into something one day.
      Other than that I’ve been working on my Calligraphy on the side and trying to develop my artistic abilities in general in the hopes that I can take advantage of any opportunities in the future that may show themselves.
      Thanks for the encouragement though! Unfortunately I’ve got a long road ahead of me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

