Gesture Drawing 1/19/2017

Decided to give Figure Drawing by Michael Hampton another shot and am starting from square one once again. The part that turned me off originally was just how difficult I found coming up with figures out of thin air to be and how I felt there wasn’t clear enough instruction on that in the book. Ultimately I think the fault lay with myself, and I really want to improve the quality of my comics, so I’ve gotta fore myself to get uncomfortable. I think one thing that separates the artists from those who give up is the ability to get comfortable with drawing something that absolutely sucks. I sometimes fall into that trap myself and gotta force myself to get back on the horse and invest in failure. 

Leave a Reply

