Shodo 1/19/2017

This is actually some embarrassing bit of work I’m putting up here for you, my dear followers. This is some of the worst calligraphy I’ve written in a long long time. 

For nearly two years I have been writing all of my fine characters and kana using a brush pen that I dip into ink – never using ink from the cartridge. My teacher uses the same type of pen and taught me to do so as well. The brush pen has a very nice spring to its touch and can make incredibly thin lines easily. 


But, in light of all these different pen grips and dip pens I’ve been trying, I got curious recently and decided to see what a proper brush would feel like. And boy, is it difficult. It feels like a wet rag being dragged across a table and I have no feel for how to make my lines as thin as I’d like. 


And yet, there’s something interesting about it. There’s a flavor to the lines that was missing from the brush pen. I’m on the verge of becoming a first Dan in calligraphy in the short two years since I first picked up a calligraphy brush, and here I am, throwing it all away in the interest of developing proper foundations. What is wrong with me?? I hope it pays off in the long run. 

4 thoughts on “Shodo 1/19/2017

  1. Wow. I had no idea you were using a brush pen. They do feel significantly different from a brush because of the synthetic hair. A regular brush will take on more water and ink. To prevent too much ink, I soak the brush in water, dry off the excess water with a paper towel, and then dip the brush in ink. It takes some trial and error to figure out how much water to remove from the brush before putting it in ink. The consistency of the ink will also make a difference, so that might be another thing to experiment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

