News May 11, 2017

Hi there,

It has been a long time since I’ve made any significant updates to the blog and I imagine that at least a few of you might be wondering what’s up. Honestly, I’ve just been busy.

Last month I was able to get my first Dan in kana for shodo, which was very nice but I have been pouring a bit more of my energy into my penmanship than anything else. I made it to the end of my second ornamental penmanship book when I realized that I wasn’t very happy with the level of skill I had acquired. I felt that my technical abilities should have been much higher than they were and it was something I was just sweeping under the rug as I progressed through the material. I finally got fed up to the point that I got a different penmanship book through iBooks called Tamblyn’s Home Instructor in Penmanship, which spends a lot more time than the At Home With Artistic Penwork series on building the fundamental skills such as speed and smoothness. In this past week alone I’ve done 40 pages of work and probably about 15 hours working through the earlier chapters of that book, and I haven’t even been able to work on anything today because I’m stuck in bed with an ear infection. The point is the majority of my current practice isn’t all that engaging to look at so I just haven’t bothered uploading anything.

Work on Cawnye has been much slower than I like because I’ve been struggling to find the time at home to draw. I watch the kids 4 nights a week while my wife goes to work, and dragging myself back out of bed once they’ve fallen asleep has gotten harder and harder. I also tried waking up at 3 am for a while there too and that was also a miserable failure. I’m back to the night schedule but it can still prove difficult some days, so I appreciate your patience for Cawnye 14.

Finally, I’m about to wrap up my job at city hall here on July 31st, but my wife’s visa hasn’t really been making any significant progress, so I’m not sure what the future will hold for us. For the time being I’ve applied for my spouse visa here in Japan and we will probably move in with my wife’s parents until her green card situation gets settled.

Anyway, that’s all. Hopefully things will get moving around here again soon and I’ll have some interesting uploads in the future. Until then, I’m back to bed to suffer through this immense pain.

Leave a Reply

